Find Print Books, eBooks and other Resources in Jannes Library
Access the Jannes Library print collection, your library account, or link to MOBIUS.
Find eBooks: EBSCO eBooks
A vast collection of 138,000 unique eBook titles, EBSCO eBooks offers unlimited simultaneous user access to a full spectrum of subjects for both research and reading for pleasure.
Working with words: Oxford English Dictionary
Much more than a dictionary, OED documents the evolution of the English language, including meaning, history and pronunciation of over 500,000 words.
Artist Biographies: AskArt
Search AskArt for authoritative artist biographies and auction records.
Find Articles and Images: JSTOR
A multidisciplinary archive of back files of scholarly journals. An awesome resource; note that it consists primarily of backfiles, meaning that for most journals, the recent three to five years are not included. Jannes Library now subscribes to all JSTOR Archival Journal and Primary sources collections, providing access to more than 2,000 journals in the Humanities and Sciences.
Update 2022: The company owning Artstor, Ithaka, is merging Artstor with JSTOR. In the next academic year or two, image content from Artstor will be migrated to JSTOR. This includes institutional image collections.
KCAI Institutional Image Collections in JSTOR
Find articles, books and images: Art & Architecture Source
In addition to its own unique titles, Art & Architecture Source includes all of the content from Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective. This database, in conjunction with Art & Architecture Complete, provides comprehensive coverage of a broad range of arts related subjects. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, designers and students.
Find articles: Academic Search Elite
A multidisciplinary database connecting you to articles from more than 2,100 journals.
Find articles: ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1.3 million records related to education literature and resources.
Find articles, fast facts and images: MasterFile Premier
Connects you to multidisciplinary periodicals, hundreds of reference books and thousands of primary source documents, as well as images.
New York Times
Access thousands of up-to-date articles as well as the back issues of the New York Times.
You can create a new account or renew your existing NY Times account here.
From on campus, you will be taken directly to the NYTimes grouppass site. From *off campus* you will be taken to the authentication screen to prove that you are with KCAI. For instructions on authentication, please see the 'Off campus access' tab in this guide. After you authenticate, follow the on-screen instructions to either create or renew your NY Times account. You must use your '@kcai.edu' email address to sign up for our grouppass subscription.
NOTE: If you need help, feel free to contact Jannes Library staff at: library@kcai.edu.
Kanopy Streaming Video
KCAI has licensed several videos on the Kanopy platform for unlimited streaming from any location. Find these videos in our catalog, and within each listed title find a link for viewing the video.
Remember: when off campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate. See at the top of this page the "Off-Campus Access" tab.
Stash
Once authenticated, you will need to click 'Login' at the top of the screen. You should then be able to use the site. Stash provides streaming access to the planet's largest online video archive of design, animation and VFX - over 5,000 motion projects - plus behind the scenes features and exclusive interviews. Stash showcases exceptional motion design, visual effects, and animation projects and the people who create them.
Find images: Artstor
*UPDATE: Artstor is migrating to JSTOR and set to retire on 1 August 2024* A collection of more than one million high quality images, mainly focused on art and design, from a wide range of cultures and time periods.