Need help with research?
Whether you're just starting to think about your topic or are somewhere deeper into research, if you need help contact Jannes Library staff.
Most important thing: When prompted to log in or authenticate, READ the on-screen instructions.
When You See This
1. Per the on-screen example, type your name and move to the next box.
2. Your ‘unique campus ID’ is the number on your KCAI ID card, followed by kcai. So if the ID # on your card is 54321, you will type 54321kcai. (No spaces. That’s it. Easy.)
If you aren't able to log in when following these instructions, contact Jannes Library staff through the chat box on this page or email us at: library@kcai.edu.
Find Articles
Our resources are licensed by Jannes Library for the use of KCAI students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes exclusively. Respect intellectual property rights; use these resources solely for research and education. Questions? See library staff.
Art & Architecture Source Find articles and images: Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, designers and students. 
Academic Search Elite Hosted by the same company as Art & Architecture, this multidisciplinary article database provides full-text access to more than 2,100 journals.
MasterFILE Premier Also uses the same interface as Art & Architecture and Academic Search Elite, this resource includes full text for nearly 1,700 multidisciplinary periodicals as well as access to over 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection.
JSTOR A favorite among academic faculty, JSTOR Archival Journal and Primary sources collections provide access to more than 2,000 journals in the Humanities and Sciences. JSTOR also provides access to thousands of citations.
Tips for using JSTOR can be found in this guide.
Articles from The New York Times are a valuable scholarly resource.
You can create a new account or renew your existing NY Times account at this link.
NOTE: If you need help, feel free to contact Jannes Library staff at: library@kcai.edu.
Tips for Searching for Articles
Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
EBSCO Open Dissertations: 1.2 million theses and dissertations
GreenFILE: covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Project MUSE: OpenAccess content from and journals from scholarly publishers. To see a list of all titles available through Project Muse, click here.
JSTOR and Artstor: OpenAccess content. Books and journals from scholarly publishers, and 1.3 million freely accessible images.
Race and Power: Cambridge University Press will offer a regularly updated selection of scholarship published by the Press, providing a long-term resource that’s freely available. (You click into a book, and you see which chapters are free.) Content looks at the deep historical roots of racism and the different forms it takes around the world. The initial selection will look at the experiences of enslaved Africans and their descendants.
The Atlantic: free access to all COVID-19 related content starting with a summer 2018 article by Ed Yong, titled “The Next Plague is Coming. Is America Ready?” Dozens of articles up to the present moment.