Research starts here: find links to collections of articles, eBooks, streaming video and images; also foreign language instruction, dictionaries, and more.
The listed resources are licensed by Jannes Library for the use of KCAI students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes exclusively.
Respect intellectual property rights; use these resources solely for research and education.
If you have any questions or need assistance using Jannes Library's online resources, please contact the Library staff at 816-802-3390.
Find eBooks: EBSCO eBooks
A vast collection of 138,000 unique eBook titles, EBSCO eBooks offers unlimited simultaneous user access to a full spectrum of subjects for both research and reading for pleasure.
Films on Demand Art & Architecture includes online access to more than 1,400 streaming videos on subjects ranging from Photography to Architecture, Art History and Applied Art.
Fast facts: Britannica Academic
An authoritative encyclopedia that includes a dictionary, thesaurus and world atlas.
Fast facts: AskArt
A database of over 185,000 artists, mostly American, offering artists’ biographical information and facts about the art marketplace, museums and galleries.
Working with words: Oxford English Dictionary
Much more than a dictionary, OED documents the evolution of the English language, including meaning, history and pronunciation of over 500,000 words.
Find articles, books and images: Art & Architecture Source
In addition to its own unique titles, Art & Architecture Source includes all of the content from Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective. This database, in conjunction with Art & Architecture Complete, provides comprehensive coverage of a broad range of arts related subjects. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, designers and students.
Find Articles: JSTOR
A multidisciplinary archive of back files of scholarly journals. An awesome resource; note that it consists primarily of backfiles, meaning that for most journals, the recent three to five years are not included.
Find articles: Academic Search Elite
A multidisciplinary database connecting you to articles from more than 2,100 journals.
Find articles: ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1.3 million records related to education literature and resources.
Find articles, fast facts and images: MasterFile Premier
Connects you to multidisciplinary periodicals, hundreds of reference books and thousands of primary source documents, as well as images.
Activate your digital access while on campus by going to nytimes.com/grouppass; then enjoy the full content of the NY Times for one year from any device at nytimes.com. Some restrictions apply; see library staff with questions.
A collection of more than one million high quality images, mainly focused on art and design, from a wide range of cultures and time periods. An ESSENTIAL art history resource.
Find images: Britannica Image Quest
Two million images from fields as diverse as fashion, chemistry and agriculture.
Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of 80 languages.