Websites and Community Resources - Queer Culture, History & Theory - LGBTQIA+ Guides

IDEAS at KCAI

KCAI's IDEAS Council

The IDEAS Council, alongside the Diversity Working Group of the Faculty Assembly, is the official body dedicated to Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Access, and Sustainability at the Kansas City Art Institute. Students, faculty members, and staff members participate in the council. More information can be found in the Path Forward tab on the kcai.edu website.

Do you have suggestions for KCAI's IDEAS Council? Submit your thoughts here: https://gorms.gle/FSgpU5GBn3bvkJzs6

Do you have suggestions for this libguide? Please email library@kcai.edu and mention the libguide you're looking at.

Articles Discussing Homophobia

The Many Faces of Homophobia: Microaggressions and the LGBTQIA+ Community Published on September 15, 2014 by Maddie McClouskey "You know those tiny backhanded comments that sound like compliments, but sort of negatively generalize groups of people? There’s a word for them: microaggressions."

Libraries and Archives

Roaming Center for Magnetic Alternatives (RCMA)
"The Roaming Center for Magnetic Alternatives (RCMA) is an ad hoc mobile media and research center exploring the correlation between queer history and a medium on the edge of obsolescence. Traveling across Mid-America, we transform everything from strip malls and lecture halls into media centers for outlying and underrepresented LGBTQ+ populations. RCMA provides free videotape digitization, film screenings, videography equipment access, and more." - homepage
Gay and Lesbian Archives of Mid-America
The Gay and Lesbian Archives of Mid-America (GLAMA) at the University of Missouri-Kansas City feature queer oral histories, photographs, a timeline of LGBT History in KC, and more.
Gerber/Hart Library and Archives
"Founded in 1981, Gerber/Hart Library and Archives seeks to preserve and make accessible the history and culture of the LGBTQ* communities in Chicago and the Midwest in order to advance the larger goal of achieving justice and equality. ... *Gerber/Hart’s collections include non-LGBTQ materials of the culture and history of people and organizations marginalized by gender and sexuality for whom a library or archives collection has not been established in the Chicago metropolitan area." -about page
Mazer Lesbian Archives
"We are a vital Lesbian and feminist community resource committed to sharing our history across generations, ethnicity, race, and personal belief systems by collecting, preserving and making available unique memorabilia in a safe and welcoming environment." - homepage
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
"ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010." -about page
OutCasting - American Archive of Public Broadcasting
"The OutCasting Collection comes from Media for the Public Good, Inc. / OutCasting Media, an organization based in New York’s Lower Hudson Valley. Included in the collection are 129 episodes from three distinct series produced by Media for the Public Good, Inc. / OutCasting Media: OutCasting, the main program, which debuted over the radio waves in 2011 as a platform to discuss concerns, issues, and experiences of LGBTQ folks; OutCasting OffAir, later called OutCasting Overtime, initially an online-only program that subsequently became available for on-air broadcast, featuring commentaries and discussions by youth participants (called OutCasters) on a wide range of issues; and OutCasting Plus, which debuted in 2017 and includes an “OutCasting Ga[y]me Show,” a quiz-formatted and mostly lighthearted discussion of LGBTQ current events. OutCasting is created by and for LGBTQ youth and straight allies, and is intended for a general listening audience that is open to learning about LGBTQ issues but may not know much about them." -landing page

Organizations Supporting Queer Communities

Kansas City Anti-Violence Project "The Kansas City Anti-Violence Project (KCAVP) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation committed to providing domestic violence, sexual assault, and hate crimes advocacy and education to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer community." - homepage
Kansas City Center for Inclusion "The Kansas City Center for Inclusion, Inc. (KCCI) is Kansas City’s LGBTQIA+ resource and community center. Founded in 2017, KCCI is proud to focus on the future of our family here in the greater Kansas City area. Kansas City’s LGBTQIA+ community has a rich history, and we are proud to continue to be a part of this great heritage." - about page
DeQH Desi LGBTQ+ Helpline for South Asians "We are trained South Asian LGBQ/TGNB+ peer support volunteers. Call or write us with questions, concerns, struggles, and hopes. It's always free — and 100% confidential. rained volunteers are available to talk between: Thursdays, 8-10 PM Eastern (5-7 PM Pacific); Sundays, 8-10 PM Eastern (5-7 PM Pacific)." - from website
Marsha P. Johnson Institute (MPJI) "The Marsha P. Johnson Institute (MPJI) protects and defends the human rights of BLACK transgender people. We do this by organizing, advocating, creating an intentional community to heal, developing transformative leadership, and promoting our collective power." - about page
Trans Women of Color Collective (TWOCC) "Trans Women of Color Collective (TWOCC) was created to cultivate economic opportunities and affirming spaces for trans people of color and our families, to foster kinship, build community engage in healing and restorative justice through arts, culture, media, advocacy and activism." - about page
Transgender Law Center "Transgender Law Center is the largest national trans-led organization advocating self-determination for all people. Grounded in legal expertise and committed to racial justice, we employ a variety of community-driven strategies to keep transgender and gender nonconforming people alive, thriving, and fighting for liberation." - homepage
TransLatin@ Coalition "The TransLatin@ Coalition is an organization formed by Trans Latin@ leaders who have come together in 2009 to organize and advocate for the needs of Trans Latin@s who are immigrants and reside in the US." - homepage

Podcats

Making Gay History "Since 2016, Making Gay History* has been bringing the largely hidden history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement to life through the voices of the people who lived it. ... *Making Gay History operates under the 501(c)(3) non-profit umbrella of GLSEN, an organization that believes that every student has the right to a safe, supportive, and LGBTQ-inclusive K-12 education." - homepage
LGBTQ&A "LGBTQ&A was created in 2016 in order to document modern LGBTQ+ history — to get beyond transition and coming out stories, to get to know each person, their accomplishments, their failures, and how to they got to where they are today." - about page
The Stonewall Uprising - You're Wrong About “Humans aren’t good at remembering what got us where we are.” Mike tells Sarah how a turning point in the gay rights movement became an immediate controversy, a lasting inspiration and a never-ending debate. Digressions include “Newsies” (of course), “True Romance” and “Norma Rae.” Mike's creaking chair and Sarah's rustling blanket-fort are heard throughout.

Queer Culture, History & Theory - LGBTQIA+ Guides: Websites and Community Resources

LGBTQIA+ Focused Websites and Community Resources

IDEAS at KCAI

Articles Discussing Homophobia

Libraries and Archives

Organizations Supporting Queer Communities

Podcats